Off to Home Depot


Luckily for my birthday my sister Timaree gave me Home Depot gift card. Today I am planning to go check out their gardening section. I need sand to mix with my soil so we’ll see what they have. I also should grab a bag of potting soil so I can start some of the seeds I have.

Although many of you say you can’t start gardening yet you certainly can start growing seedlings. If you do not have a nursery nearby or you want to grow things that are not available at your nursery you’ll have to start with seeds. Seedlings should be grown indoors, in a garage or shed so they don’t freeze with your frost but so they can grow and get ready to be put into the ground when the time comes.

Here is a great article and project to make your own little seedling pots – how cool is that? If I hadn’t saved so many of those disposable nursery pots I would be making these for sure.

Newspaper Seedling Pots

Okay back from Home Depot made out pretty good wow they have a great selection but I am thinking it’s too soon to start planting. I have set my plant date to April 3rd – and even the weekend after that would be good too. It’s a little chilly at night, not too bad maybe in the high 40’s or 50’s so we want to be careful. The one thing I did get today is this below:

The product overview says: Supersoil Garden Amender contains rich, organic materials and composted manure that will help to break up clay and improve sandy soils. The result is an ideal growing environment for flowers and vegetables. Plus, it contains plant foods for up to 45 days of feeding.

I got this because I could not find the right sand. I will use the three bags of this that I purchased and see if it resolves my problem which is mud like soil. If not I’ll go get the sand.

Oh ya and the few plants I picked up today are in the garage 🙂 I’ll put them in the sun during the day but it’s just a little too cold right now to leave outside.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hope you have fun making your newspaper pots! They’re addictive. Saw your tweet in the sidebar about avocado and citrus and I’m so jealous. Wish we could do that here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

