Planting the seeds…


As I mentioned before I purchased 3 packs of seeds and 1 box of seeds from Dollar Tree, to see if they grow. The box of seeds is pretty cool, I had no idea when you open the box there is about two cups of loose seeds in there. I guess I was expecting additional packaging. I have a big bucket out front that I sprinkled most of the seed into from the box. Next to the bucket there is a green pot that needed love so I put a bunch of seeds in there as well. After planting seeds/seedlings or any plant you water it nicely so I did that. They are both in direct sun for about 7 hours a day which is good most plants need at least six hours of direct sunlight unless otherwise noted. So here is a pic of the two planters with the dollar store seed box and the two pots lets keep an eye on them…

It has been so awesome getting ready for this years garden. I was able to start early enough to research the area of my yard I wanted to convert, read up on what I could/should attempt to grow and order a few things in advance so when the time really comes I am ready. My Dad also just signed me and my sisters up for the Gardening Club so we’ll be getting a few books etc… that will certainly help. Interesting enough my oldest sister Shannon is going to be starting her own garden this year. She lives up in northern California (95457) right on Clear Lake. She has a beautiful lake house and it will be interesting to follow her garden. Also my sister Kerry lives next door to me and she too is going to be gardening. Kerry has two very cool raised beds that she will be growing a lot of herbs, peppers, zuke’s and…..other stuff I am sure. Both of my sisters are struggling with shade. Their backyards are predominately shade so it’s cool that they can research things that can grow better in shade. That is why I am planting extra tomatoes too, because Kerry won’t be growing them this year — she just doesn’t have enough sun.

Kerry gave me this very cute herb pot for my Birthday in February 🙂 it came with its own dirt and seeds – as you can see the rosemary is growing so well out of the top and the other little spots have growth as well. I will keep you posted on this little pot!

Until next time – how is your garden?

What are you planting?

I would love to hear from you!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeana on March 22, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    I found your blog today and really like your idea about sharing different tips and tricks for gardening. I am always trying different gardening experiments to see what works for me. I tried upside down tomatoes in 5 gallon buckets because I had alot of shade and just a little area that got morning/early afternoon sun so I had my husband build me a simple post that I could hang the buckets from. I planted basil in the top of the bucket you really have to water them alot but it was worth it.

    Reply

    • Oh wow that is so great. A gal was just asking me on my Facebook about the upside down tomatoes and if I ever tried them or knew anyone that did. So they worked out huh? I have see that they are now trying other plants in those upside down containers. That is so great because you can move your garden to the sun! My sister has little sun in her backyard so can’t grow certain things — she is going to try one of those this summer. Would love to see pics 😉 are you gardening this year? Where do you live?

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jeana on March 23, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I have a picture of them on my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=260130&l=d92fb90376&id=100000159113661 here is the link I hope it works.
    I planted herbs in the tops of them and just kept them water good and used good potting soil and sprinkled in some slow release plant food and they worked out great.

    I live in Oklahoma. I have been getting a lasagna garden bed ready for my warm season crops and tried wintersowning this year and almost everything germinated so now I don’t have to worry about hardening my plants off before I plant them outside. Those are a couple of my gardening adventures for this season. Gardening is so addictive. We have crazy weather here it was in the lower 70s and the next day we had 7″ of snow and it was melted within 2 days and back in the lower 70s.

    Reply

    • Jeana omg that is so cool! I have never seen a homemade one like that before and wow that is just awesome! I might have to try that when I get a chance. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing..

      Reply

  3. Believe it or not, I am planting some spring time flowers. I’m not much on gardening, but my yard needs a little color. I have beautiful azaleas, mostly in the front, but they bloom for such a short period of time. Great blog Colleen. It’s fun to look at as well as very informative!

    Reply

Leave a comment