Challenge: Grow your own potatoes…


Project: grow potatoes from your own!

I am following my Dad’s instructions so here goes. Every Irish person MUST grow potatoes in their garden! Here is how:

Put a few potatoes in a brown bag under your sink for 10 days. When you look at them after 10 day they should have sprouted. Then cut them like in the picture to include an eye or sprout in each piece. Well in the photo you will notice I cut them all a little different because I wasn’t real sure – some small than others etc… Then plant in your garden 2″ deep, one at a time about a foot apart. Dad says eventually a green leafy plant will grow out then a white flower will appear, then the white flower will fall off and die. It is then you dig up your spuds!

Up for the challenge? I AM!! 🙂 Let’s do this! Mine are ready to go into the ground tomorrow — we’ll see!

THIS JUST IN:::::::::::Make sure when you plant them you plant them in hills. I will post pics later today when I get mine into the ground.

Also:

I just found this website that talks all about what we are trying: http://tinyurl.com/ydyq8nj

5 responses to this post.

  1. That looks like a great idea! I wanna try it!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brit on March 23, 2010 at 4:22 am

    I’m going to try this (though there have been times I’ve pulled them out of the pantry looking like that! :o). Thanks for the tip on when to dig up the pratties. 🙂

    Reply

    • I know what you mean! Dad says to leave them out on the counter for 24 hours until they harden whatever that means – mine are not hard persay but I am planting them tomorrow. He says it should yield like 4-7 potatoes and they will be the best potatoes you ever had!! OMG

      Reply

  3. Posted by Jeana on March 23, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Sounds good I have to wait for my garden to dry up a bit all the snow melted and turned my garden into a swamp. I have some red potatoes do you think they will be okay to plant?

    Reply

  4. I don’t see why not – as long as they sprout when you have them in a bag in the dark. Let us know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

