Plum Tree


Going to be also focusing on this plum tree. It had a huge sucker shoot next to it that prevented it from bearing a lot of fruit last season so hopefully since we chopped that off and have fed it and water it – I hope, hope, hope we get a lot of fruit from it this year and it starts to flourish.

A sucker shoot is a growth at the base of the tree that appears to be part of the tree but actually is a sucker ….it is nothing and will suck the growth and nutrients from your tree and stunt it. Wow is that my words? LOL …you have to get rid of sucker shoots in order to allow your tree to flourish.

You can see the stump of the sucker root that we chopped off 😉

7 responses to this post.

  1. Get that sucker!!! I hope you have lots and lots of success girl!

    Reply

  2. YaY!!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by fdrive on March 27, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    blog is looking good, so is the garden… can’t wait for the first harvest 🙂

    Reply

  4. I’ve had so many people ask me to start a blog, but it is you a total stranger who inspired me. I’ve included my blog address.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

