Avocado Tree is in!


Today we planted an avocado tree can you believe it? Gosh it’s going to be so awesome to take care of it and watch it grow until we have them all over the ground I cannot wait! I am sure it will be 2 or 3 seasons until it starts to produce but I think we’re going to be here a very long time. This is my boyfriend Francis. He has made it pretty clear that he does not enjoy gardening but likes the work out when it comes to digging and such. He also was so shocked last summer when our garden grew out of its boundaries — both he and I weren’t sure how successful we’d be so we planted a lot thinking some would make it and some would not — oddly enough everything made it! LOL 🙂 so we are being more careful to plant only things we will eat this year.

*Avocado Nutrition Facts*

Avocados contain just 5 grams of fat per serving.

Avocados contain NO cholesterol and NO sodium.

Avocados contain 60% more potassium per ounce than bananas!

Avocados are high in fiber, vitamin B6, vitamin C, vitamin E, potassium and folate.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Love it!! Can’t wait for guacamole……

    Reply

  2. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Brit on March 29, 2010 at 6:03 am

    Oh, I love the avocado tree! I’ll buy some from you when you are bursting at the seams. Or, we’ll trade you peaches/plums/apples/asian pears.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Brit on March 29, 2010 at 6:04 am

    Ok, scratch the trading for plums (I didn’t read down far enough!). But the rest still stand. LOL

    Reply

  5. Oh for sure let’s swap! 🙂

    Reply

  6. So glad to find your blog! I planted two avocado trees about 3 years ago and am still waiting for them to produce 😦 Of course I live in Sacramento and they are a little more difficult to grow here than in sunny SoCal- but I like a challenge! One of them, the Haas, got hit heavily by a deep freeze this winter. The other one, a Bacon avocado, was unphased by the freeze. Still, I’m wondering how much that freeze affected my possibility of fruit production this year. I’ve heard some people say it took their trees 5 to 7 years to produce! Thankfully I don’t plan on moving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

