Rain water barrel is in – thanks City of Long Beach!


Anyone who lives in Long Beach and is reading this blog must need one of these! The gentleman spear heading the rain barrel program, Larry Rich, dropped this off today for my self installation. Well there isn’t anything with it LOL no stand or anything so what kind of install are they talking about? Just line it up with a rain gutter, one that would normally push water on to cement and into the street. Not a rain gutter that drops water into your garden or onto your grass — this is to save water that is heading to the storm drain. There is a round hold near the top, covered with a screen – totally awesome I am so excited! We will get it hooked up this weekend because actually where we want to put it has no rain gutter so the owner (my sister) says she’ll buy us one this weekend YaY! This is going to save us so much money on water in a few ways. Did you know it saves a ton of water if you use a watering can versus the hose? Ya of course you knew that. And in some countries they mandate you water any vegetable/flower gardens with cans only! So collecting the water and using a can will be very beneficial for us and the City of Long Beach. So cool I think we are expecting rain Monday the 5th of April although I just planted all my seeds today so I would normally probably not want rain – but I am excited to try to get some water in here before the rain season goes away.

Are you going to sign up for a LB barrel?

Or do you already use one? I would love to know your thoughts!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brit on April 3, 2010 at 1:42 am

    That is so exciting! I hope we can get our rain gutters in so we can apply before they are all gone.

    Reply

  2. I say apply now and get your gutter in when u can – they didn’t even check mine or anything 😉

    Reply

  3. Hey, great blog…I haven’t figured out how to add your site in my rss reader but I will soon 🙂

    low cost franchise opportunities

    Reply

Leave a Reply

