Rain barrel set up and ready for rain!


The City of Long Beach has their free rain barrel pilot program going on right now so if you haven’t signed up you should. Part of the program is to send a digital pic to the city of your installed rain barrel so here is mine. Now I hope we get some rain!

Also today I noticed that my zuke seeds are sprouting! I am so excited and there are more than I can plant so I am hoping that my sweet sister Kerry and awesome cousin Brit would each like to plan a zuke or two? πŸ™‚ next to my zuke photo is a pic of my sprouting potatoes.

The only watering I did today was in the small pots, as they dry out quickly. Remember plants need air as much as water so you want to see them moist but you also want to see them dry too, that means they are getting their needed air. Be sure you are also keeping an eye out for weeds – you got to pull them as soon as you see them!

Until next time…here is an updated pic of the dollar seeds we got at Dollar Tree:

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brit on April 12, 2010 at 1:19 am

    I love the rain barrel! I sent in my application; I’m hoping to hear from them this week. And LOL; I’m not sure about the awesome part, but John confirmed we can fit a zuke somewhere. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. awesome πŸ™‚ one zuke is coming your way!

    Reply

  3. ooops I’m on Kerry’s laptop babysitting lol – colleen

    Reply

  4. Posted by Brit on April 12, 2010 at 2:57 am

    LOL! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Posted by Erinleanne on April 12, 2010 at 3:17 am

    I need to sign up for one of these barrels! How much H2O does it hold??

    Reply

  6. Your barrel is fabulous!! Hopefully some rain will get in there tonight and tomorrow!

    Reply

  7. This barrel holds 55 gallons. Kerry if you don’t hear back from that guy you should print the application again so we can email it.

    http://www.longbeach.gov/civica/filebank/blobdload.asp?BlobID=26836

    Thanks you guys πŸ™‚ you make my blog fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

