Beans are in! Lets go lettuce!


This row closest to my house has seen its share of grief so far this season. As soon as I got the zuke seeds planted it rained so hard it washed them all away. I have been letting it dry out real well. I dug it out and spread the dirt around so I could put some organic mixture in with it in hope to make it better for growing. It is also the row that gets the least amount of shade. I am also big on having things look good and I know this row isn’t doing that as well but the good news is — BEANS are in! They look a little dark there because I had put some potting soil on top of them and then watered as well. Tomorrow I will even up that area and hope to make their little growing space a good one that they can thrive in. This row has about 9 bean plants and two zucchini plants. I did not grow beans in the past but when reading up on vegetable gardening, beans are listed as one of the easiest veggies to grow so I figured I’d try it out. I am always looking for more things to grow that can go into salads.

The beans I planted are snap beans (or string or green). These have tender, fleshy, pods with little fiber. They will be green and/or yellow and grow in a bushy fashion. These types of plants like a lot of water but again it’s best to water deep and not that often because frequent light sprinklings may encourage mildew.  Also it says when they start to produce you must pick them often so the plant continues to produce (like a zuke or most other veggies/herbs that I can recall).

Having second thoughts about your need to grown beans? Well check out this list of health reasons you (and I) need to eat more beans and grow them!

  • Beans are loaded with protein your body needs. Baby limas have eight grams per 1/4 cup.
  • They’re an excellent source of “good” carbohydrates.
  • With fiber galore, beans aid the digestion process, keeping bowel functions working well — one serving of pinto beans has halfof your daily fiber needs!
  • A great source of iron and calcium, beans make an ideal meal choice for those suffering from anemia or osteoporosis.
  • Beans are the number one food on the United States Department of Agriculture’s list of 20 high-antioxidant sources of common foods.
  • Because beans slow the rise in blood sugar after a meal, they make a great choice for diabetics.

I hope my salad seedlings get going! As of right now this is my only salad LOL — looks like I am going to need some lettuce on my beans! Can’t wait!


    ENJOY your Mother’s Day!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I did Burgundy bean this year. I’m really looking forward to their harvest! I’ve never done beans before, but I’m certain I’ll do them again! Good luck with yours!

    Reply

  2. Wow that is going to be awesome I can’t wait to see a pic of those purple beans growing. They look like they’d be delicious! http://www.humeseeds.com/beanpq.htm

    Reply

  3. Posted by Brit on May 6, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    I planted some Blue Lake green beans this year. I’m hoping to have a good yield (I planted 6 of them). I also planted 2 black Turtle beans with the plan of making my own instead of buying them.

    Your garden is looking great! And Charlie looks like he’s patrolling it. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Brit that is so cool! We all should be nice and healthy and saving a few bucks this summer. And ya Charlie is my buddy 🙂

    Reply

  5. I can taste a BBQ already!!! And…..we’ll need to invite Charlie ~ he’s such a great helper!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

