California Strawberries!


My strawberries are doing so well in this basket, baking in the sun all day long. It makes me want to hang more baskets all around! Did you know that strawberries contain more vitamin C than an orange?

Strawberries contain more vitamin C than an orange, are high in fibre, low in calories and a good source of folic acid. Also where I live, California is the nation’s leading producer of strawberries. In 2003, growers harvested an average 1.8 billion pounds of strawberries, which accounted for 88 percent of the country’s total fresh and frozen strawberry production. The coast of California has a unique environment. Its western ocean exposure provides moderate temperatures year round with warm sunny days and cool foggy nights – the perfect combination for growing delicious, beautiful strawberries! There are a few more photograph’s of my strawberry plant on my flicker page that can be seen on my blog if you visit! Cool beans .. .I mean strawberries!

Here is an updated photo of the garden, things are coming along just fine. I harvested a round zuke a couple days ago and grilled it on the BBQ and it was yummy! There are more zuke’s in the future and tomatoes are just about ready for the picking.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I love the long runner hanging off that basket. Great shot! Your garden is looking great!

    Reply

  2. Beautiful strawberry post, your header shot is so pretty. I have one container of strawberries this year, I hope they do well. 🙂 R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

